Criminal Law

Sex Offenses (Except Forcible Rape and Prostitution)

This classification includes offenses against chastity, common decency, morals, and the like.

The ability of the victim to give consent must be a professional determination by the law enforcement agency. The age of the victim, of course, plays a critical role in this determination. Individuals do not mature mentally at the same rate. Certainly, no 4-year old is capable of consenting, where victims aged 10 or 12 may need to be assessed within the specific circumstances.

Sexual attacks on males are included in this classification. However, depending on the nature of the crime and the extent of the injury, the offense could be classified as an assault. (See explanation of assaults on page 23 of this handbook.)

This classification includes all sex offenses except forcible rape, prostitution, and commercialized vice.

Agencies must include in this classification:

  • Adultery and fornication
  • Buggery
  • Seduction
  • Sodomy or crime against nature
  • Incest
  • Indecent exposure
  • Indecent liberties
  • Statutory rape (no force)
  • Attempts to commit any of the above