United States

The “United States”, when used in a geographical sense, comprises the several States, the District of Columbia and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the organized territories under the jurisdiction of the United States Government.

Source: U.S. Copyright Office.

The States of the United States, the District of Columbia, and the territories and possessions of the United States, including the territorial sea and the overlying airspace.

Source: U.S. Code.