Dallas, Texas DWI Legal Aid & Pro Bono Services
In Texas, driving while intoxicated (DWI) means drunk driving. According to the state, you are drunk when your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08% or higher. Anyone under the age of 21 is deemed to be driving under the influence if there is any detectable amount of alcohol in their blood.
If you have been charged with driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, Dallas DWI lawyer can advise you as to your options and, if needed, defend you in court.
If you fail a breath and/or blood test, your driver’s license may be suspended for 90 days. If you refuse to provide a breath and/or blood test, your driver’s license might be suspended for 180 days.
A DWI conviction in Dallas can have a variety of consequences. A judge may sentence you to one or more of the following depending on the specific circumstances of your case: fines of up to $2,000; jail time of up to 180 days; and/or license suspension of up to one year.
A first conviction DWI is considered Class B Misdemeanor can carry jail time in the County jail for not less than 72 hours or more than 180 days; fine of up to $2,000; and community service between 24 and 100 hours. A second conviction DWI is considered a Class A Misdemeanor can carry jail time in the County jail for not less than 30 days or more than 365 days; a fine up of $4,000; and community service. A third conviction DWI is considered a third-degree felony can carry jail time between two and ten years; and a fine of up to $10,000.
Being convicted of an alcohol offense can negatively impact many aspects of your life such as your employment, relationships and your reputation. This is why having a Dallas DWI lawyer on your side can make all the difference in your case.
Dallas Bar Association LegalLine
2101 Ross Avenue
Dallas, TX 75201
DWI, Bankruptcy, Criminal and Personal Injury