Temporary Protected Status

In some cases, non-citizens in the United States may try to obtain Temporary Protected Status (TPS). Implementation of TPS is the responsibility of the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS), which is part of the Department of Homeland Security (DHS). This is an option available to persons who are already in the United States. TPS is designed for individuals whose home country is not safe due to reasons such as armed conflict or natural disaster.

To qualify for TPS, you must meet the following criteria:

  • Be a national of a designated country;
  • Have had continuous physical presence in the United States since the effective date of the most recent TPS designation of the country;
  • Have had continuous residence in the U.S. since an arbitrary date that is designated by DHS and varies according to the country;
  • Be “admissible” as an immigrant under the relevant immigration laws.

Benefits and Restrictions of TPS

TPS typically lasts from six to 18 months. When the TPS period terminates, the non-citizen’s immigration status returns to what it was prior to the TPS. TPS is not an avenue to permanent resident status, often known as a green card. However, in certain instances, a TPS beneficiary may immigrate permanently under another immigration law if qualified.

If an individual qualifies for TPS status, he or she will be granted valid immigration status for a temporary period, will be eligible to obtain a work permit and will be allowed to work legally in the U.S. for the duration of the TPS, will be able to apply for travel authorization, and will be able to halt deportation and removal proceedings. TPS grantees, however, are ineligible for public benefits because they are not permanently residing in the U.S. according to immigration laws.

Currently, there are eight countries that are certified by the government for special humanitarian treatment under immigration law:  El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Nicaragua, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan, and Syria. It is entirely within the attorney general’s discretion as to whether a particular country will be designated as one whose nationals will qualify for TPS, and whether to extend the designation. Courts cannot review such decisions. TPS grantees are considered to be maintaining lawful status as nonimmigrants.

After TPS Is Granted

If you have been granted TPS by an Immigration Judge or the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA), you may request employment authorization by filing Form I-765, Application for Employment. Travel authorization can be applied for by filing Form I-131, Application for Travel Document. These authorizations can only be obtained after TPS has already been granted. Thus, it is futile to file these forms if an individual is currently in proceedings.

Once TPS is granted, if DHS extends a TPS designation beyond the initial period, the individual must re-register during each re-registration period to maintain TPS benefits. This applies consistently to all TPS beneficiaries. Re-registration can typically be completed online. In some cases, USCIS may accept a late re-registration application if the individual shows good cause for being late. A letter must accompany the late application setting forth the reasons for the delay.

Search Legal Web Resources